A Life in Parts, Bryan Cranston

9781476793856When I was young my family and I didn’t really share interests when it came to television shows. The only show I can remember all four of us sitting in front of the television every week to watch was Malcolm in the Middle. It’s a fond memory I have of growing up because for one half hour each week we would all gather together for this one show and laugh.

This is why when Breaking Bad became popular I knew I had to watch. I didn’t know what to expect when I started, but I was blown away. Instantly I was fascinated by the man who was somehow a goofy husband and father in one show, and this intensely layered character in another. I was amazed with Bryan Cranston as an actor.

Once I found out that the man wrote a memoir I was beyond excited to read the backstory of the man who could do it all. And once again, I wasn’t prepared for what I was about to experience. I planned on a quick read over my weekend, and Cranston’s writing made it incredibly easy to do just that. In these pages is a detailed telling of Cranston’s life from the very beginning. He opens up about his troubled family past and about all of the jobs he has held… including being a security guard at a grocery store.

As a reader you are welcomed to the world of past failed relationships, and his small triumphs as a struggling actor to making it into roles that were life-changing for himself and all those involved. It’s incredible how candid one person can be about their own life and I am happy to report that Cranston’s words make me feel like he is the kind, generous, funny person I hoped he was.

Make sure you don’t miss your chance to see Cranston in Austin on October 20th!

One thought on “A Life in Parts, Bryan Cranston

Leave a Reply

