What We’re Reading This Week

It’s been a while since we’ve posted about what our booksellers are currently reading, but we’re bringing it back. If you need a good recommendation for what to read next, you might find something here:

img_1397

AMY L

caldwell

I’ll Tell You in Person by Chloe Caldwell

I’ll Tell You in Person is a collection of essays that centers mostly on the author’s 20s and her teens and what that means for her going into her 30s. She discusses everything from family breakdowns to the relationship between acne and heroin, to hitchhiking in Europe, being friends with boys in high school, sex, and female friendship. Her prose is very relatable—it’s funny and it’s simple and it sounds kind of like she’s talking to you. I got to interview Chloe for my drug and alcohol history blog, about her novella Women, which I also recommend. Reading I’ll Tell You in Person is kind of like being her friend, and being her friend sounds awesome.” I’ll Tell You in Person comes out October 4th. Pre-order now!

JADE

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

sixofcrows-hires

“I’m reading Six of Crows in preparation for the Texas Teen Book Festival, where Leigh Bardugo will be appearing. The heavy worldbuilding made it a little bit problematic for me getting into the book because it kind of just throws you into this world with all the strange words that they use, and you don’t get an explanation of what they mean at first, so it’s discombobulating and you feel sort of cast adrift. But as you get through, each story is told through the point of view of a different character, so you get different perspectives of this town and this country and this world that all of these characters are living in, and as you’re getting perspective you’re also progressing further in the story. I really like that about it.” You can find copies of Six of Crows on our shelves and via bookpeople.com.

PABLO

theholographicuniversemichaeltalbot

The Holographic Universe: The Revolutionary Theory of Reality by Michael Talbot

“Basically the author is trying to say that we live inside a hologram, that the universe is a hologram—it’s pretty interesting. He goes through the history of physics real quickly and then about the first people who said ‘Oh, maybe the universe is a hologram…’. In science, it takes a long time for people to change their minds about things, and so he goes through that and now I’m at the part where he’s getting into how the brain might be a hologram. I like to read a lot of astrophysics books, and I think this one is written in a way that’s friendly to the layman. You don’t have to be in school for physics to understand what he’s talking about.” You can find copies of The Holographic Universe via bookpeople.com.

MOLLY M

rebecca

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

“Right now I’m reading Rebecca for the second time. The first time I read it, I think what I was so surprised about was that even though it’s an older novel, the female protagonist feels so recognizable. I love reading older novels where you can recognize your own thought patterns in the characters. Rebecca is also fun because it’s so melodramatic and it’s not stuffy; it feels almost like a classic romance novel, but it’s so well-written. It’s the perfect fall book because the atmosphere is so foggy and misty. Du Maurier manages to combine so many things I love that are a little bit tackier, like really fancy locations and ghost stories and obsessive love where you kind of lose yourself. I’m loving it!” You can find copies of Rebecca on our shelves and via bookpeople.com.

MOLLY O

bloodcrime

Blood Crime by Sebastia Alzamora i Martin

“I’m not that far into Blood Crime, but I’m really liking it so far. Originally written in Catalan, it’s set in 1937 in Barcelona and it’s told from the perspective of a vampire who begins the book by slaughtering a bunch of priests. So really, this book’s for everyone! It’s definitely a mixture of crime novel and horror, with a strong Gothic element. It’s a really great book for me to have found because it’s a time period and setting that I’m fascinated with but that I’ve certainly never read about from the perspective of a vampire.” You can find copies of Blood Crime via bookpeople.com.

Leave a Reply

