Statesman Selects in June: YOUR SONG CHANGED MY LIFE by Bob Boilen

BookPeople is proud to partner with the Austin American-Statesman for their monthly Statesman Selects program. Each month, BookPeople will highlight the Statesman’s top recommended read for Austin. June’s pick is Your Song Changed My Life: From Jimmy Page to St. Vincent, Smokey Robinson to Hozier, Thirty-Five Beloved Artists on Thier Journey and the Music That Inspired It by Bob Boilen. Boilen will be at BookPeople Friday, June 3 at 7PM to speak and sign his book. Pick up a copy of the Statesman on Sunday, May 29 to read their review of the book!

Bob Boilen credit Maggie Starbard & NPR9780062344441

“It’s the story of how a song can be a call to action, to pick up an instrument or a pen, to find your voice, to spill your soul and change your life – and, perhaps, someone else’s.”

Is there an unforgettable song that changed your life? Bob Boilen, creator of NPR’s All Songs Considered and Tiny Desk Concerts sat down with thirty-five famed musicians to talk about what song and/or artist inspired them to become the powerhouses that they are. He talks with people from all across the spectrum and learns that Jenny Lewis was inspired by Elvis, Sturgill Simpson was inspired by Otis Redding and Bill Monroe, Leon Bridges was influenced by Sam Cooke, and the list goes on.

When I first heard that Bob Boilen was coming to BookPeople, the first person I had to tell was my father. For years I’d always sit and grumble when my dad would put NPR on the radio. I didn’t like the news; I didn’t like the slow cadence of the hosts. I was a kid, it was boring. But then the music. Always something different. Always something inspiring, and it would always spark a conversation between my father and me. So much so that still to this day my dad and I swap our findings from All Songs Considered or Tiny Desk Concerts on NPR. So naturally I had to tell my dad of this book and event. (Unfortunately he lives two states away and will not be able to attend – I’ll record it for you, Dad, and maybe send you the book when I’m done reading it.)

I’m only through the first part of the book, but I can’t tell you how excited I am to find more artists to share with my dad, including Bob Boilen’s own music. He has been in two bands and even composed solo songs. (Check out more here.)

I’m even more excited to hear from some of the artists that Boilen has talked with and included in Your Song Changed My Life because multiple artists featured have inspired me, including Jimmy Page, Sturgill Simpson, Hozier, I can go on… and if I’m being really honest, the majority of all the others in the book.

I hope everyone is as excited about Bob Boilen coming to visit BookPeople as I am and I can’t wait to see you there!

With that, I will leave you with some things from All Song Considered and Tiny Desk Concerts. Enjoy!

~ Amy: BookPeople Marketing Associate

Check out All Songs Considered every week for their “New Mix”. Here is the one from this past week: New Mix: The Monkees, Esmé Patterson, Adia Victoria, Matt The Electrician, More

And here is one I really enjoy from Tiny Desk Concerts:

 

 

 

One thought on “Statesman Selects in June: YOUR SONG CHANGED MY LIFE by Bob Boilen

  1. Pingback: I’M BACK! At least for a minute anyway… | Amy Schakes

Leave a Reply

