Book Club Corner – April

book clubWelcome to our Book Club Corner, where each month we highlight books new to paperback we think would make perfect picks for your next book club discussion. If you’re looking to join a book club, we host a wide variety of free, bookseller-run book clubs right here at BookPeople. Join us! We love to talk books.


FEATURED BOOKS OF THE MONTH


 The Little Paris Book Shop by Nina George

9780553418798This enchanting novel was written for book lovers, and so is a natural pick for book clubs! Monsieur Perdu is a “literary apothecary”. From his floating book shop in France he prescribes books as a cure to his clients, uncannily able to know exactly which books are needed by which reader. But he’s unable to cure his own heartache. When his great love disappeared she left him only with a letter, which he has never opened. But as it usually goes in most stories, something changes and Perdu must go on a journey, taking his floating book shop with him. On the way he meets an unlikely bestselling author and a lovelorn Italian chef, and while dispensing literary wisdom to cure others, he must figure out how to heal his own soul.

The novel has been lauded for its charming story as well as its atmospheric prose. Lovers of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Amelie will fall in love with this book.

The Little Paris Bookshop is an enchantment. Set in a floating barge along the Seine, this love letter to books—and to the complicated, sometimes broken people who are healed by them—is the next best thing to booking a trip to France.”—Sarah Pekkanen, author of Catching Air

The Little Paris Book Shop  was released in paperback on March 22nd and is available on our shelves now.


The Sunken Cathedral by Kate Walbert

9781476799360Walbert’s fourth novel, The Sunken Cathedral (so named after Claude Debussy’s piano prelude “La Cathédrale Engloutie”), is a lyrically written novel with a cast of characters trying to navigate their swiftly changing city, extreme weather, and the uncertainty of the 21st century. Two women, Marie and Simone, who have been friends for decades and post WWII immigrants, are now widows living in Chelsea. Sid Morris, their painting instructor, keeps a packed suitcase next to his desk at all time “in the unlikely event of an emergency”. And Elizabeth, Marie’s upstairs tenant, is constantly mystified by other people’s ability to just be. Through these characters and others, the author explores  friendship, love, yearning, anxiety and how our memories effect the way we live.

Kate Walbert is the author of the novels A Short History of Women, named a top ten best book by The New York Times Book Review and finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize; Our Kind, nominated for the National Book Award; and The Gardens of Kyoto, winner of the Connecticut Book Award.

The Sunken Cathedral is impressionistic, a book of drifting shadows and blazing clarity; Kate Walbert has written a gorgeous and moving requiem for a people and a city that are not yet lost. A magnificent achievement.”-  Lauren Groff, author of Fates and Furies

The Sunken Cathedral was released in paperback on March 29th and is available on our shelved now.


Quicksand by Steve Toltz

9781476797830Quicksand is a dark comedy for the 21st century from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz. Liam, a struggling writer turned reluctant cop, is inspired to base his next book on his best friend Aldo’s exponential misfortunes and ill-conceived quest to win back his ex-wife, Stella. Toltz exposes the absurdity that is our modern life while simultaneously creating a heart felt narrative about love, faith, friendship and the artist’s obligation to his muse.

Fans of Michael Chabon and David Foster Wallace will find good company in this novel. And Toltz’s well crafted existential dilemmas are worthy of none other than Kurt Vonnegut himself.

“There are more lines of genius on one page of Quicksand than in the entirety of many very respectable novels.” – Elif Batuman, author of The Possessed

Quicksand will be available in paperback on April 5th and is available for pre-order now.


 Start With The Backbeat by Garinè B Isassi 

9781631520419In the spring of 1989, post-punk rocker Jill Dodge finally gets her promotion at Mega Big Records. As she and her mostly middle-class co-workers desperately search for the next big rap star (lest the latest trend pass them by), they come up against the stereotypes of race, class and genre. Isassi, with a razor’s edge, points out how quickly greed and self-interest can displace one’s passion for music when an individual lets herself get lost in the corporate conglomeration of the music industry. But she just as deftly points out how one can retain their soul in their journey towards success.

“How we hold on to our authentic selves in the face of change is the reverberating question behind Isassi’s witty and knowing first novel.” — Booklist

Garinè B. Isassi is a former singer/songwriter who grew up with one foot in Texas and the other in New Jersey. A graduate of the University of Texas at Austin, she is a lover of music, chocolate, and altruistic sarcasm; a writer of post-punk humor; and the illustrious founder of Helicopter Moms Anonymous.

Start With The Backbeat will be available in paperback on April 5th and is available for pre-order now.


In A Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

in-a-dark-dark-wood-9781501112317_hrLeonora, a reclusive writer, is invited to a bachelorette party for her best friend from high school, who she hasn’t seen in ten years. After reluctantly agreeing she ends up trapped in an isolated house in the woods. With a storm approaching and mysterious footprints having been discovered around the house, a haunting realization dawns on those in attendance – They are not alone in the woods.

A proper English mystery combined with a modern hard edge thriller, In a Dark, Dark Wood plays with characters and tropes in unexpected and thrilling ways. It has been on both the New York Time and Los Angeles Times best seller lists. New Line Cinema and Reese Witherspoon are currently teaming up to bring this suspenseful novel to the big screen.

“Ware slowly unspools the mystery, setting a truly spooky scene … with a constant undercurrent of danger. Read it on a dark and stormy night—with all the lights on.”- Kirkus Reviews

In A Dark, Dark Wood will be available in paperback on April 19th and is available for pre-order now.


 FEATURED EVENT OF THE MONTH


6464799

 Saturday, April 16 at 3PM

New York Times Bestseller
JESSICA KNOLL
speaking & signing
Luckiest Girl Alive

Luckiest Girl Alive is a perfect summer page turner. If you loved Gone Girl, this is your next addiction!

Luckiest Girl Alive is on our shelves now!


FEATURED DRINK OF THE MONTH


Old Vine RedProduced mainly from Zinfandel, Petite Sirah and Carignane primarily from vineyards in Sonoma and Mendocino counties, Marietta Cellars Old Vine Red is an alluring deep ruby purple in color, suggesting dark ripe juicy berries with hints of the parched dusty northern California vineyard floor. A great red for springtime in Austin, you can find this for $11.99/bottle at Austin Wine Merchant.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s