What We’re Reading This Week

steven how to sharpen pencils
STEVEN W.
“David Rees has transformed the humdrum necessity of pencil sharpening into a genuine art-form to be celebrated alongside Monet’s landscapes, Beethoven’s Sonatas, and Sagan’s cosmology. In How To Sharpen Pencils, he shares the joy of pure craftsmanship with the reader, effectively demonstrating the proper way to sharpen a pencil while emphasizing the obligation of the artist to form a physical, mental, and spiritual connection to their tools. This insightful manifesto is epistemically enticing, genuinely informative, and bizarrely hilarious.” You can find copies of How To Sharpen Pencils on our shelves and via bookpeople.com.

BETHANY

honey and saltHoney and Salt by Carl Sandburg

“I unearthed this collection in a little shop in New Orleans filled with precarious towers of leaning books, and it proved just as charming as its surroundings. Sandburg’s last volume of poetry, written when he was in his 80s, Honey and Salt shows him to have been a word magician to the end. Evocative, sensuous, and playful, these poems are nearly impossible not to read aloud and read again. Perfect for those who (like me) know next to nothing about poetry but enjoy lyrical writing. Thanks Arcadian Books!”Copies of Honey and Salt are available for special order via bookpeople.com. 

KATIE L.

grapes of wrathGrapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
“I’m about 25% of the way into it. I’m working on catching on all the classics I missed by not being a lit major. I’m really enjoying Steinbeck’s writing so far. I love the way family dynamics are described, and that turtle. I’m already excited to read more Steinbeck – I’m thinking East of Eden next.” You can find copies of Grapes of Wrath on our shelves and via bookpeople.com.

CRISTINA

boy snow birdBoy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi
“I am only about a quarter in to Boy, Snow, Bird by Helen Oyeyemi, but I’m finding myself fairly dazzled. It’s a loose re-telling of Snow White set in the racially charged 1950s. Aside from the beautiful writing, I love how fresh this book feels against the sea of fair tale re-tellings in current rotation. When I sit down to read this book, I get completely caught up in it. I love the complex character Oyeyemi has created in Boy Novak, and I can can already say with certainty that I’ll be looking into more of her titles.” You can find copies of Boy, Snow, Bird on our shelves and via bookpeople.com. The New and Noteworthy Book Club discusses Boy, Snow, Bird on Thursday, April 23rd, at 7 PM on BookPeople’s 3rd floor. Book club picks are 10% off at the register during the month of their selection.

CHRIS H.

angels in americaAngels in America by Tony Kushner
“A part of me will always rejoice in the presence of great melodrama. Angels in America is that for starters. Set in 1980’s New York at the height of Reagan and AIDS when it was new and seemingly death incarnate. Kushner’s play humbles every character, even heaven trembles in anxious impotence, but few crumple. I loved its buoyant imagination and the majesty in every voice. Not naturalism, not quite opera, small moments, bigger than life. This is a mighty tome of a play, the best sort. I doubt my next read stands a comparative chance.” You can find copies of Angels in America on our shelves and via bookpeople.com.

One thought on “What We’re Reading This Week

Leave a Reply

